, , , , , , ,

I’m departing from my usual structure (one book per review) and reviewing all three books in one blog post. The Fallen series by Lauren Kate isn’t the usual YA dystopian literature I’ve been into lately. It’s actually more fantasy, which I’m not a big fan of. However, these books were great. Unfortunately, there are four books in this series and the last one isn’t out until the summer. I need to know what happens to Luce and Daniel!


In the first book, Fallen, we are following Luce, who is sent to a new school for “troubled” students in Georgia. She meets a plethora of interesting characters, including Daniel, whom she feels she’s met before. After a series of odd occurrences, she discovers that most of the students at Swords & Cross are actually angels, including Daniel.

She also learns that her and Daniel having been falling in love for generations. While Daniel is immortal, in each life, Luce only lives to the age of seventeen and is reincarnated, but doesn’t remember the memories of her past life. At the end of the book, there is a big angel fight between Daniel and Cam, another angel, that causes so much destruction and the death of Luce’s friend, Pennyweather.

I really like the love story in this, especially because they are the original star-cross’d lovers and are doomed to repeat their love story over and over, without Luce knowing why it happens. But what makes this time different is that when she finds out the truth about Daniel and their past lives, she doesn’t die (as she always did before). The mystery of why she hasn’t died is the driving force for her and Daniel.


I felt that Torment was the strongest book out of the three (so far). After the major fight at the end of Fallen, Daniel knows that Luce is in danger and other-wordly creatures will come after her. Why? We don’t know yet. He sends her to another school like Swords & Cross in California. Having angels and people descended from angels protects her. Her torment derives from not knowing why she is in danger, her and Daniel’s past lives together, and what Daniel is off doing.

Luce learns that there is no such thing as good and evil – it’s all a gray zone. Daniel keeps information from her and she hates this, so she sets out to found out on her own the truth. Along the way, she makes friends with Miles, who at the end of this book, she learns that he has fallen in love with her. His love saves her life at another big, other-worldly fight between the angels and Outcasts (a rank of angels). Once Miles saves her life from a starshot, she realizes what she must do – she must go back in time (with the use of “Announcers,” pieces of the past that act like creatures). When she does, Daniel and her friends chase after her.

The strength of this book was the different torments one can experience: having your loved one far away and not in your arms, not knowing the truth (or learning the truth), having to hurt someone who loves you, having to leave, being alone. The book also kept up the pace and left me rooting for Luce to find out the truth. I really want to know why her and Daniel are doomed forever to repeat the painful process they are stuck in.

And so, book two ends with Luce stepping back into time, to her other lives.


Passion takes us to the two world wars, Victorian England, Louis XIV France, Mesoamerica, and so on. Luce goes back into her past lies to learn the truth about her and Daniel.

I think the author’s website best describes book three:

Before Luce and Daniel met at Sword & Cross, before they fought the Immortals, they had already lived many lives. And so Luce, desperate to unlock the curse that condemns their love, must revisit her past incarnations in order to understand her fate. Each century, each life, holds a different clue. But Daniel is chasing her throughout the centuries before she has a chance to rewrite history. How many deaths can one true love endure? And can Luce and Daniel unlock their past in order to change their future? (Source: http://www.fallenbooks.co.uk)

That’s basically all that happens. I found the story very repetitive. Luce meeting her past selves, and learning nothing really. She learns that once she finds out the truth, she dies. She can “cleave” into her past selves – basically, to be in their bodies. The major piece of the puzzle that we learn is that her and Daniel’s curse leads back to the beginning of time, when angels fell. Daniel was the angel who tipped the scales and that’s (kind of) why he is cursed. But there is more to the story and now we must wait for the fourth book to come out.

Final Thoughts

Despite the weakness of Passion, I really like this series. Angels and demons are fascinating, as it is more about the story of good and evil. Though this series is more fantasy than I liked or am use it, it definitely works in its favour. It doesn’t treat fantasy elements as plot devices or contrivances. The characters are strong, quirky, interesting, and relatable. Luce is a very strong character, who at times is like Bella from  Twilight, but most of the times, she is strong and can make those tough decisions when it counts. She is also very determined and headstrong.

So of course, her determination will help her discover the origin of her and Daniel’s curse. I really hope that the series ends with her as an angel or Daniel as a mortal, and the two of them spending the rest of their lives together (without all the death).

Also to note, Lauren Kate has written a complementary book of short stories of the other characters in the series, called Fallen in Love. I haven’t decided if I’m going to read it or not. Regardless, I’ll wait after Rapture comes out!


{  } Pretty bad
{  } Tolerable
{  } All right
{  } Exciting
{x} Enthralling

Books 17, 18 & 19 out of 60