Tags

, , , , ,

With their thirtieth birthdays looming, Jennifer Baggett, Holly C. Corbett, and Amanda Pressner are feeling the pressure to hit certain milestones—get the dream job, find a husband, build a family, be successful and settle down. Instead, they find themselves finding something missing in each of their lives. After much deliberation, they quit their jobs and leave home behind to embark on a yearlong round-the-world trip, spanning four continents and 60,000 miles.

The 500+ page book is told in each of the “Lost Girls'” perspectives (the full title is:  The Lost Girls: Three Friends. Four Continents. One Unconventional Detour Around the World). They cover almost every country/region/continent they visit – Kenya, South-East Asia, Australia, South America. They want the authentic experience: backpacking in third world country, doing things off the beaten path where no tourist ventures to. They push themselves outside their comfort zones. Their story is one of true friendship – one that survives sharing beds in crummy hostels, foreign illnesses, and questionable locations.

One thing I must say right off the bat is that it must suck to be American (as I thought the same with The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost). These women seem so uptight and obsessed with working. Pressner even works while travelling, doing freelance writing. It seems they have to go to extreme measures to find out what they want from life and to learn that dream job won’t fill the void in their lives.

I’m not sure if this is what it’s like for every American, but as a Canadian, I just want to tell the “Lost Girls” to calm down! Relax! You don’t have to bungee jump in New Zealand or rough it in the Outback to fully appreciate life. You can appreciate your life in New York City as you could anywhere else in the world.

It also seemed that they wanted everything done right in life. Thankfully after their year-long trip they all realize they don’t have to follow society’s rules and they can control their own fate. All I was thinking reading this was “Duhhhh!”

Regardless, I don’t think I would recommend this book. It was an okay book, but it is pretty lengthy. It became tedious after a while. It turned into telling the reader they went this place, and did that, and then travelled somewhere else. I understand they wanted to cover everywhere they went, but the lengths of their chapters were really long and could have easily been pared down.

One thing I really did like about this book (one thing that Good Girl’s Guide was missing) was the story of true friendship. It was a powerful aspect of their story and made the book much more interesting. I do like reading about exotic locales, but when someone talks about how they travelled there, it gets a bit boring if I never travelled there myself. The story of friendship made the book more about the theme of “It’s not where you go or what you do, it’s who you have beside you.” I really like that.

I think about reading The Lost Girls and The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost, I think I’m off travel writing for a while, though I am planning on reading Travels in Siberia by Ian Frazier. But then again, I love anything to do with Russia and I’m definitely looking forward to reading that.

Rating:

{  } Pretty bad
{  } Tolerable
{x} All right
{  } Exciting
{  } Enthralling

Book 42 out of 60

